The Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research

At the recommendation of the Board of Directors and with full support of Dawn's family, The Dawn Brejcha Foundation partnered with the Brain Aneurysm Foundation to establish The Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research. This chair will provide an annual grant of $10,000 to be awarded to a deserving project in the area of brain aneurysm research at The Brain Aneurysm Foundation Research Grant Symposium.


The 2015 Brejcha Memorial Chair of Research was awarded to:

Shakira Brathwaite, MSc. Candidate
University of Toronto, St. Michael's Hospital, Toronto, ON, Canada

In September 2015, Dr. Shakira Brathwaite of St. Michael's Hospital was awarded the Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research for her research "Role of Toll-­like Receptor 4 Signaling in Experimental Subarachnoid Hemorrhage." In an email received by Ms. Braithwaite, she states, "As someone who conducts research on brain aneurysm rupture, receiving any grant is a great thing - our work is quite expensive to conduct, and the field is not as well-funded as other forms of stroke. But what really makes this award so special and so meaningful is how very personal a BAF grant is. It is incredibly inspiring to hear about the resilience of affected families and communities, to see how they rally to support a better future for those in similar situations, and to get to know and understand the beautiful people they lost (and who's memories we honor). These stories and connections bring a special meaning to what we do in the lab everyday; they help keep us motivated to work hard even when things are not going so well. No bad day in the lab could ever invoke the same feelings of pain and sadness that one feels when they lose someone so precious and close to them, so when families are able to pull together and do amazing things like this, we as researchers cannot possibly allow ourselves to give up."


The 2014 Brejcha Memorial Chair of Research was awarded to:

Dr. Jianping Xiang , PhD
The State University of New York at Buffalo

On September 11, 2014 the Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research was awared to Dr. Jianping Xiang to continue his work "A View: A Bedside Simulation Tool for Neurovascular Intervention." Dr. Xiang attended the grant symposium as accepted the award in person. Says Kristin Barret of The Brain Aneurysm Foundation, "He was very gracious and honored to be the recipient of your grant. Thank you for your continued support."


The 2013 Brejcha Memorial Chair of Research was awarded to:

Dr. Teresa Santiago-Sim, PhD
The Vivian L. Smith Department of Neurosurgery
The University of Texas Medical School at Houston

A quick note from Dr. Santiago-Sim: "We are honored to take part in celebrating Dawn’s life as this year’s recipient of the Dawn Brejcha Chair of Research grant. Please extend our deep gratitude to the Foundation’s organizers, volunteers and sponsors for supporting our aneurysm research. By studying the function of genes related to aneurysm formation and rupture, we hope to be able understand how gene mutations lead to vascular disease and design preventative therapeutic strategies for families at higher risk for developing aneurysms."


The 2012 Dawn Brejcha Chair of research will be awarded on Dawn's birthday: September 20, 2012 in St. Louis, MO. The grant went to support the work of:

Alim P. Mitha, M.D., SM, FRCSC Cerebrovascular/Endovascular/Skull Base Neurosurgeon, Assistant Professor of Clinical Neurosciences and Radiology, Foothills Medical Centre, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB.

Dr. Mitha is currently researching A Bioabsorbable, Verapamil-Eluting Stent for the Treatment of Vasospasm after Subarachmoid Hemorrhage.


The 2010 Dawn Brejcha Chair of research was awarded on September 22, 2010 in Orlando, FL. The grant went to support the work of:

Steven Chang, M.D., Ph.D. - Professor in Neurosciences, Stanford Medicine - "Identification of Genetic Indicators to Predict Cerebral Vasospasm Following Subarachnoid Hemorrhage" - Stanford University - Stanford, CA